Online grants portal

Going online makes it easy for you!

  • Register once and your details will be there next time you come to apply.
  • Automated steps and sums - no more having to keep your calculator handy!
  • Save your form and come back to it as necessary.
  • Track the status of your application.

Who can apply?

  • Disability Support Service (DSS) providers who hold a contract with the Ministry of Health (MoH).
  • Disabled People’s Organisations (DPOs) that are part of the DPO coalition.
  • People receiving Individualised Funding (IF).
  • People from Mid Central who are registered as part of the system transformation roll out.

Which grants can I apply for?

All applications for our disability grants need to be submitted via our online grants portal - we do not accept paper based applications.

What kind of questions will be asked?

  • Information to show you satisfy eligibility criteria.
  • Details of the speciality of services you provide.
  • Your MoH details.
  • The primary contact person for your application.
  • Details of the learning activity.
  • Details of cost associated with the learning activity.
  • Details of every participant that will undertake the learning activity.
  • Delivery of learning activity (method, location, etc).
  • Details of the organisational support for participants to undertake the learning activity.
  • An outline of opportunities that will enable the participant to apply the skills and knowledge attained from the learning activity to benefit disabled people/sector.
  • Background of facilitator in the disability sector.
  • Involvement of disabled people in the development/facilitation of the training.
  • Alignment of learning activities to the overarching Let’s get real: Disability framework.

Grant priorities

These priorities are developed and agreed with in partnership with MoH. Learning topics that align to the following areas will be prioritised:

Underpinned by

  • Increased awareness of the requirements of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD) amongst both the disability workforce, and disabled people and their whānau/carers.
  • Leadership development of provider organisations, DPOs, disabled people and whānau.
  • Demonstrated use of the Let’s get real: Disability seven Real Skills to inform the application, is critical assessment criteria for the panel: 
    • Working with disabled people.
    • Working with Māori.
    • Working with families and whānau.
    • Working with communities.
    • Challenging stigma and discrimination, and promoting value.
    • Upholding law, policy and practice.
    • Maintaining professional and personal development.

Applications that fall outside of these priority areas will be considered but may receive a lower rating.

Please check our FAQs or contact if you need further information.